Website Manager

Blair Little League

About Blair Little League

Welcome to Blair Little League, a dynamic volunteer organization committed to igniting the flame of baseball in our young champions while shaping them into extraordinary members of society!

We are on a mission to empower kids in Blair, Nebraska, and beyond by providing an electrifying platform where they not only learn the fundamentals of baseball but also cultivate essential life skills that foster personal growth and community engagement.

With boundless energy and enthusiasm, we offer recreational co-ed baseball leagues that cater to children between the ages of 4 and 14. Our dedicated coaches and mentors go above and beyond to create a thrilling and inclusive environment where every child can unleash their potential and thrive.

At Blair Little League, we believe that baseball is more than just a sport; it's a transformative experience that builds character, resilience, and teamwork. Through thrilling practices, exhilarating games, and meaningful interactions, we instill values like discipline, sportsmanship, and perseverance, equipping our young players with the tools they need to excel both on and off the field.

Join us on this thrilling journey of growth, camaraderie, and triumph as we unleash the spirit of baseball and shape the leaders of tomorrow. Together, we'll create memories that will last a lifetime while fostering a deep sense of community and pride.

Blair Little League: Where Dreams Take Flight, and Champions are Born!


Little League in Blair gets its start!

The idea for youth baseball that would eventually become what is known today as the Blair Little League was started in 1965 and led by Bill Hardy. That year Blair would start with 11-12 year old local teams, in 1966 they had doubled in size. 

In 1967, the Washington County Little League was formed. This league included 2 teams from Blair, 2 from Herman, 2 from Ft. Calhoun, 1 from Kennard, and 1 from Orum. The Washington County Little League operated until the start of what is currently known as the Blair Little League. 

In 1974, the Blair Little League you know today was officially chartered. The 1st Board of Directors of the Blair Little League included: President; Bill Hardy, VP Evert Ball, VP Rob Williams, VP Bob Madsen, Secretary Tim Brown, Daryl Jensen, Dale Lemon, Ken Cameron, and Gordy Pounds.

Originally, the Washington County Little League found a home on the High School Fields A-D in 1971. The Blair Little League continued using these facilities as their main base for several years. It wasn't until 1980, when the idea of a youth sports complex was brought to the city. 

In 1981, the Blair All Star Team advanced to Baxter Springs, Kansas, at this tournament is where the concept for what is now Wederquist Field, was visualized. Wederquist Field is named after Lynn Wederquist, Lynn was one of the first Presidents of the Blair Little League and well-known as a tremenous coach and mentor in the Little League organization. Lynn had passed away in a plane crash in 1980, while on a business trip. Wederquist Field was the first field established in 1982. Wederquist Field has been host to many Little League District and State Tournaments events.

Eagle Field, named after the Eagle's Organization followed in construction in 1983. Finally, between 1984-1985, Hardy Field was completed, named after Bill Hardy. Bill Hardy was chosen as the namesake for the field because of his countless hours and dedication to youth baseball in Blair. Bill was the leading driver behind the development of creating the Blair Little League and establishing a positive experience through the game of baseball for Blair's youth. 

The Blair Youth Sports Complex was established in 1984 officially. The first board of the Blair Youth Sports Complex would take on their roles in 1989, with Fred Aman, Bill Hardy, and Dan Flynn leading the way. 

Central Region Tournament Host, 1987

In 1987, Blair hosted the Little League Central Tournament on our fields.   

The participating teams were:

  • Timberline LL from Rapid City, South Dakota - Division 1 Champions
  • Jackie Robinson West LL from Chicago, Illinois - Illinois State Champions
  • Chesterfield LL from Chesterfield Indiana - Indiana State Champions
  • Georgetown LL from Jenison, Michigan - Michigan State Champions
  • Boardman LL from Boardman, Ohio - Ohio State Champions

Chesterfield beat Jackie Robinson West 2 - 0 in the championship game.  They continued to advance in the Championship Semi-finals bracket, one game away from the LL final.


Player Pledge

I trust in God
I love my country and will respect its laws
I will play fair and strive to win
But win or lose, I will always do my best

Parent, Guardian, Friend, Fan Pledge

I will lead by example treating all people with respect
I will encourage good sportsmanship
I will look out for the safety of all children
I will support coaches, umpires, and league officials
I will remember that the game is for our children
I will help to make each game a fun experience for every child


Blair Little League

500 North 10th St 
Blair, Nebraska 68008

Email: [email protected]
Phone: 402-677-5825

Contact Us

Blair Little League

500 North 10th St 
Blair, Nebraska 68008

Email: [email protected]
Phone: 402-677-5825

Copyright © 2024 Blair Little League  |  Privacy Statement |  Terms Of Use |  License Agreement |  Children's Privacy Policy  Log In